Monday, 19 April 2010

Voting First in Warwickshire

By Ben Aulakh

Voters in 19 Warwickshire wards will be electing a candidate in a brand new constituency in this year’s general election.

A review carried out by the Boundary Commission for England in the year 2000 made a recommendation for a sixth parliamentary constituency for the county, Kenilworth and Southam.

It will be formed of wards from Warwick District, Stratford upon Avon District and Rugby Borough.

The wards gained from Rugby Borough will be Dunchurch, Knightlow, Leam Valley and Ryton-on-Dunsmore.

Those gained from Warwick will be Abbey, Cubbington, Lapworth, Leek Wootton, Park Hill, Radford Semele, St John’s, and Stoneleigh.

The wards which will make up the new electoral area from Stratford-on-Avon are, Burton Dassett, Fenny Compton, Harbury, Kineton, Long Itchington, Southam, Stockton and Napton and Wellesbourne.

The reform comes as the result of a review which established that Warwickshire had an electorate of just fewer than 400,000, which entitled it to just over five electoral areas.

However with five constituencies, the average electoral quota for each would be more than 8000 above that which is allowed under election rules.

Kenilworth and Southam will have an electorate of more than 65, 000 – the candidates who will contest the election will be announced at 4pm on April 19.

No comments:

Post a Comment